Lunch, Main Course
Comment 1

Macau Fried Rice (edited)

macau fried rice recipe

I chose this recipe as my very first as I think this dish is not only easy to make and delicious, but it also represents my background and me very well. I was born and raised in Macau, a tiny peninsula in the southeast of China very close to Hong Kong – and until 1999 a colony of Portugal. In my early twenties, I moved to London and since two years I am now living in Berlin.  I am the mother of a 3 year old girl. My cooking has been influenced by the Portuguese kitchen and Chinese kitchen as well as the melting pot of international food in London, which, I reckon, is pretty interesting.

This dish is a fusion of South East China and Portuguese cooking: Fried rice is a popular and traditional dish in Macau and Hong Kong. Chorizo and olives are two of the most favorite ingredients in Macau-Portuguese cuisine.  This East meets West combination makes this dish unique. Every time I make this dish, the smell of it reminds me of home, that’s why it is my favorite fried rice dish. Another thing I like about this dish is the fact that it makes a great party or picnic food and it is tasty either warm or cold.  My daughter loves it and always empties her bowl very quickly.

I added in diced carrot in this recipe as I like to add in extra veggies to make this dish healthier. Black olive is used normally in the original version of this rice in Macau, but I like to use green olive as well to make a bit of a variety, both are equally delicious in this recipe. You can make the rice ahead of them or use left over cooked rice for this recipe, in fact it is easier to fry than freshly cooked rice!

Ingredients:

(serves 4)

  • Splash of olive oil
  • 100g Chorizo, diced
  • 120g tomato, diced
  • 1 medium carrot, finely diced
  • 80g (or handful) black olive (I used green olives here), stoned
  • 100g green peas, fresh or frozen
  • 1 mug (or 250g) uncooked Basmati rice (you can use long grain rice)
  • 1.5 mugs of water (or vegetable stock)
  • 1 heap tbsp. tomato puree
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce

Put the uncooked rice into a medium saucepan, add a little bit olive oil and water and bring to boil. Then reduce the heat, cover and simmer until the water is absorbed – around 7 to 10 minutes.  Check the rice, by fluffing it up with a fork or spatula. If the liquid is all gone it is done, (otherwise cover it for another few minutes). Put it aside.

Heat a large, deep, non-stick pan (a wok will be ideal!) on high, and add a little bit olive oil, add the chorizo and stir fry until the chorizo turns slightly brown. Move the chorizo in a bowl and set aside, drain the extra oil from the chorizo in a little bowl (leave a little bit in the pan), set aside but please don’t throw it away! Add the carrots in the pan and stir for a minute, add tomato puree, soy sauce and then the tomatoes and green peas. Keep stir-frying for another 3-4 minutes or until the tomatoes start to collapse.  – add a splash of water if the content in the pan is getting a bit too dry and sticky. Then add the rice and continue stir frying. It is important to keep the stove on high heat and keep stirring otherwise the rice will stick, stir fry until it is well mixed with the ingredients. Now add the chorizo and the remaining oil (from the chorizo) little at a time, then stir again until all combined.  Now, it is the time to have a taste and adjust the seasoning. Add a bit more soy sauce if needed.  Remove from the heat, add the olives, and as a final, mix well.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Chorizo Stuffed Peppers | ginger & chorizo

Leave a Reply

