Lunch, Main Course, Soups, Starters
Leave a Comment

Smoked Butterfish Corn Chowder

Smoked butterfish chowder recipe

This is one of the simplest soups I have ever made, and it is so delicious!  This is a recipe based on Jamie Oliver’s smoky haddock corn chowder.  I am a huge fan of Jamie and I have to say, he really is my inspiration!  I have many of his cook books and have cooked many of his recipes, and they are all amazingly good.  I learnt so much about food from his recipes: for example to use lots of fresh herbs (it really makes a different in the taste), to be adventurous about using different ingredients, to be confident and be passionate about your cooking.  So that’s what I do with my cooking now and I am happy of what I have achieved so far.

In this recipe I changed a couple of ingredients, as I didn’t have those in hands.  I used Butterfish because I couldn’t find smoked haddock.  I used shallot here instead of spring onions, which is used in Jamie’s recipes. But the result is still incredibly tasty.  I couldn’t imagine how little effort this dish takes, but how great it tastes.  So it really is worth a try.  And needless to say, just to see my daughter galloped her soup pretty much in 5 minutes told me all!

Ingredients:

Served 2-3

  • 250g smoked Butterfish fillet (make sure there are no bones)
  • 4 rashers of streaky bacon, roughly cut into strips
  • 1 small shallot, finely chopped
  • 300g or 4 small potatoes, chopped into small chunks
  • 2 corn on the cob, kernels removed.
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 sprigs of fresh thyme or ½ tsp. dry thyme
  • 600ml Vegetable (or chicken) stock
  • 100ml single cream
  • 150g cooked peel shrimps
  • 1 baguette to serve

Drizzle about one tablespoon of olive oil in a heavy based saucepan on high heat. Put shallots in the pan and fry until transparent.  Add bacon strips and continue to fry until golden.  Then add the potato chunks and stir well.  Now add the corn kernels, smoked butterfish, thyme and bay leaves in the pan, and cover with the stock.  Put the lid on and leave on medium heat for 10-15 minutes.  Stir once or twice during cooking.

Finally, add the single cream and cooked shrimps, put the lid back on and reduce to low heat for another 5 minutes.  Remove from heat.  I then use a potato masher to mash up part of the contents, but you can leave it chunky if you prefer.  Serve with slices of baguette.

Leave a Reply

