Baking, Dessert, Gluten Free
Leave a Comment

Almond Cake with Figs and Hazelnut

gluten free almond cake with fig and hazelnut recipe

Hello there. It’s been a few weeks since my last post, but please forgive me! If you have been following me on Facebook and Instagram, you probably know I went to London to attend a seminar (on how to launch your food start up) at the end of last month. It was very intense and absolutely inspiring. I heard how people set up their food business from scratch, some with zero capital, some went through disaster, some had unexpected luck etc. but at the end, everyone succeeded in what they started. The whole seminar was filled with good advices and strong encouragements. I came out with fresh eyes and realized that the possibility of success are endless. ‘Take any chance that is laid in front of you and don’t be afraid to make mistakse…’ these are the lines that I am so often now thinking of. It was an incredible trip and I hope what I learned will help me somewhere or sometime down the road.

After I came back from my London trip, I was very busy running everyday chores and catching up with a mountain of paperwork (this is one of the downside of being a freelancer, you have to deal with your own accounting!). But here we go, I finally sat down in front of the computer, doing what I really want to do, writing this post and so I hope you like this week’s recipe. My husband absolutely loved it and asked me to make the cake for his colleagues in his office! It was a very nice compliment and that’s the reason why I love to do what I do :).

This is a recipe which I adapted with small changes from one of my favorite blogs, Petite-Kitchen. I used figs and hazelnut (since I had them in the kitchen) instead of preserved apricot and pine nut – which the original recipe called for. I love the combination of figs (my favorite fruit to use in baking) and hazelnuts in my recipe, the flavors married really well together. And just before I put the cake mixture into the oven, I sprinkled a pinch of cinnamon on to it. This additional ingredient beautifully spiced up the cake.

By the way, I have a mini post with a buckwheat pancake recipe on Kleistyle Food Friday last week, so head over there if you fancy some gluten-free pancake for breakfast!

almond cake with fig and hazelnut recipe

 

Ingredients:

(make one 9 inches cake)

Slightly adapted from Petite-Kitchen

  • 2 cups ground almond
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (or honey)
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (or butter)
  • 2-3 figs (each cut into about 8 wedges)
  • 1/4 cup hazelnut, skinned and roughly chopped
  • zest of one lemon
  • a pinch of cinnamon

Preheat the oven at 180 degree Celsius. Combine ground almond, eggs, baking powder, maple syrup, coconut oil, lemon zest in a food processor until just combined.

Pour cake batter into a  9 inches cake pan greased or lined with baking paper (I find it very helpful if you first wet your baking paper under the tap so it becomes flexible, then shake off excess water and then ‘mould’ the paper on your baking pan).

Arrange the fig slices and chopped hazelnut on top and finally sprinkle cinnamon evenly on the fruit and nuts.

Bake in the oven for about 45 minutes (check with a skewer if it comes out clean). Leave the cake in the pan to cool down for 10 minutes then transfer the cake on a cooling rack to cool completely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

