Baking, Dessert, Gluten Free, KitchenBowl
Leave a Comment

My Favorite Brownies

Brownies with cream and berries recipe

It has to be my favorite brownies recipe by far. I stumbled upon this recipe on David Lebovitz blog when I was looking for an easy, gluten free brownies recipe for a barbecue party where we were invited to on Monday. And instantly, I knew it would be ‘the brownies recipe’ that I will make again and again, and I was right, not only did the heavenly smell of chocolate fill up the entire house, but also it tasted so good that I made it twice this week (!) yes, it is that Amazing!

I am glad that I made this brownies twice because I discovered something crucial; I used two different types of sugar in the two separate occasions: the first time I used caster sugar, the brownies was lighter both in texture and in taste. I added in toasted hazelnut to give a crunchier texture. We had it with lemon sorbet, it was sweet, chocolatey with the combination of a tangy citrus punch. Crunchy on the outside and soft and moist on the inside, together with the frosty sorbet, it was a delight to the mouth. When I heard the children enthused, ‘these brownies are delicious!’, and I know, this recipe is a sure winner!

The second time, I used unrefined cane sugar, it resulted in denser texture and more intense and richer in taste. I served it with creme fraiche then topped with mixed berries. The velvety cream and the sharpness of the fruits tune down the dense, rich caramel flavour of the brownies, it was definitely a superb combo. A glorious dessert that will impress your guests over and over again!

Note: remember to grease your baking paper or foil, the first time I didn’t quite follow the instruction, I nearly lost the whole bottom of the brownies. I did the second time round, and it came off the paper nicely!

Regarding the size of the baking tin, I used a 25cm by 21cm which resulted in a thinner brownies. So the smaller tin you use, the thicker the brownies you will get. It’s your call!

Brownies with cream and berries recipe

Gluten Free Brownies with Mixed Berries and Cream

Recipe slightly adapted from David Lebovitz’s gluten-free brownies

Ingredients:

Makes 12 pieces

For the Brownies:

  • 85g Unsalted butter (plus more for greasing), or Salted butter
  • Pinch of salt (ignore when use salted butter)
  • 125g Bitter chocolate (70% cocoa) plus 100g bitter-sweet chocolate (50%)
  • 150g unrefined cane sugar (or caster sugar for a lighter taste)
  • 2 large egg, at room temperature
  • 30g corn starch
  • 1 tablespoon raw unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract or paste

To Serve:

  • Creme Fraiche
  • Mixed berries of your choice
  • Fresh mint leaves for garnish

Preheat the oven to 180 degree Celsius. Line a square or rectangle baking tin with baking paper or foil. Grease the paper with butter, set aside.

Melt butter, chocolate and salt in a heat proof bowl over a pot of simmering water. mix well until smooth.

Removed the melted chocolate from heat then add sugar, mix well. Add the egg (lightly beaten) one at a time to the chocolate and sugar mixture.

Sift the cornstarch and cocoa powder in a small bowl and then add into the chocolate mixture, mix well and then add in the vanilla extract. Use a electric mixer (or by hand) beat the batter for at least one minute.

Pour the batter in the prepared baking tin and then bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, or until the centre feel just firm (do not over baked). Remove the tin from the oven and allow the brownies to cool completely in the tin.

Slice and serve the brownies with creme fraiche, mixed berries and mint.

Brownies with cream and berries recipe

For the step-by-step photo recipe at Kitchenbowl website, please click here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

