Baking, Dessert, Gluten Free
Leave a Comment

Honey Roasted Nectarine and Cherry with Cinnamon and Coconut

Baked Nectarine and Cherry recipe

I have been a bit obsessed with baked fruit as of late. There is something about a hot tray of tender, sweet fruits comes straight out of the oven, it is piquant, it is warm, almost festive. The air is filled with sweet aroma, often I can’t help but dig right into these beauties without worrying my lips being burnt. The combination of the warmth, the softness and the tartiness which was almost unique to baked fruit. Magic happens when the luscious fruit mingles with refreshingly cold cream, a multi-dimensional taste, or shall I say sensation, guarantees to enthrall you. That’s why it becomes one of my favorite desserts, and I won’t mind to make it even though on a hot summer day.

In the last couple of weeks, I have tried with different fruits, especially summer ones such as strawberry, rhubarb, apricot, nectarine, cherry etc. or a combination of any two. I know it is nothing new, but once I found the combo that I really love, after cooking it repeatedly for a while, making changes here and there to suit my own taste, it will flourish and become my own. So I do hope that you will find yours, but until then, this recipe will be a good start for you.

I chose nectarine and cherry for this recipe because I like the subtle sweetness of nectarine and an almost floral tone to its smell. When baked, it became soft on the outside and still remained a bit of a bite on the inside which provides a core texture for the whole dish. Although pitting cherry is a time consuming matter (it is not too bad considering there isn’t any actual cooking act for you after the preparation), but I find it therapeutic. After mixing the two fruits together with my burgundy tinted fingers, then in go the honey, cinnamon, shredded coconut and ground vanilla. All it left for you to do is to let the oven do its job.

Note: choose nectarine that is ripe but still firm, you can use peach instead (though I prefer the smooth skin of the nectarine). Don’t worry too much with the quantity of the spice and toppings, just make sure they are evenly distributed. Served the baked fruits with good quality ice-cream and I find it goes best with vanilla ice-cream (pictured), otherwise whipped cream or mascarpone cheese for a richer taste.

Baked Nectarine and Cherry recipe

Ingredients:

served 4

  • 4 large nectarine (or 5 small one), halved, pitted and cut into bite size pieces
  • 250g Cherry, halved and pitted
  • 1 tbsp. of mild runny honey, such as Akazien honey
  • Cinnamon
  • Shredded coconut
  • Ice cream or cream to serve

Pre-heat the oven at 180 degree celsius.

Combine the cut fruits in a baking tray. Sprinkle cinnamon on the fruits, then drizzle honey, topped with shredded coconut and ground vanilla.

Bake on the middle top shelf of the oven for 20 minutes.

Remove from the oven and let it rest for 3 minutes. Divide the baked fruits in bowls and topped with vanilla ice cream. Served while the fruits are still warm.

Leave a Reply

