Gluten Free, Salads, Sauces, Side Dishes, vegetarian
Comments 2

Wakame Avocado Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing

Wakame Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing recipe

Sesame sauce is hugely popular in Asian countries, I grew up eating steamed wobbly rice rolls topped with flavoursome sesame sauce for breakfast, one of my absolute childhood favorites. The other of my beloved dish is hand-torn chicken and julienned cucumber served with silky, sweet sesame sauce. In fact, I love everything with a toasted sesame flavour, so sesame oil becomes my definite pantry item, a drizzle here and a drizzle there, a natural flavour enhancer.

I was at my daughter’s school summer fair the other day and I was helping out at one of the food stalls. A fellow mother made summer rolls with a sesame dipping sauce which were so delicious that they sold out almost within just an hour. I was definitely spellbound by the smooth, delectable sauce that I didn’t hesitate to ask her for the recipe. She has given me the list of ingredients but I have to work out the quantities myself. So here is my version of the sesame sauce which I serve here as a salad dressing, and I hope you will like it and will make it again and again.

Note: you can use a blender instead of grounding the seeds by hand, but I don’t have a powerful blender so I use pestle and mortar instead. You can also use chicken/vegetable stock or dashi in place of water, which I will try for sure for my next batch of dressing.

wakame salad with toasted sesame dressing recipeWakame Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing recipeWakame Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing recipeWakame Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing recipeWakame Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing recipe

Ingredients:

Serves 4

For the dressing:

  • 1 cup toasted sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup tamari (or regular soy sauce if not gluten free)
  • 1/4 cup mirin
  • 1.5 tbsp. agave syrup
  • 2 tbsp. toasted sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp. rice wine vinegar
  • 8 tbsp. water (plus more if needed)

For the salad:

  • Dried wakame seaweed (1 tbsp. per person), rehydrated with water
  • avocado, peeled and chopped
  • cherry tomato, halved
  • radicchio, torn into small pieces (or chopped)
  • mixed lettuces
  • chopped cucumber (optional)
  • reddish, sliced (optional)

In a dry frying pan, toast the sesame seeds until fragrant (about 2 minutes). Transfer them to a pestle and mortar then ground, in batches, until they are mostly in powder.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine all the rest of the ingredients and mixed well. This dressing is a bit thicker than the usual salad dressing, but feel free to add more water (one tablespoon at a time) if you would like it thinner, but adjust the seasoning accordingly.

Add into the salad and mixed well.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

